diloga

Home » English » Conditional Exercises

Conditional Exercises

Conditional Exercise 1

If / When

1. ______________ I am late to work, my boss gets very angry. That is why I am always on time.

2. ______________ I leave work, I usually go to the fitness center to work out.

3. ______________ he eats, he tries to choose healthy foods.

4. His car is very reliable, and he rarely has any trouble with it. But he has had a couple of difficulties in the past. ______________ his car breaks down or he has any problems, he calls the auto club.

5. His car is terrible! It always breaks down. ______________ his car breaks down or he has any problems, he calls the auto club.

6. Mary gets six weeks paid vacation a year. She loves to travel. ______________ she goes on vacation, she always goes somewhere exotic.

7. Diane works harder than anyone I know. I don’t think she has taken a day off in three years. But she does really love to travel. ______________ she goes on vacation, she goes somewhere exotic.

8. He loves going to the movies. ______________ he goes to the movies, he always gets a large popcorn with tons of butter.

9. She hates TV. She thinks television is a waste of time. ______________ she watches any television at all, it is usually a documentary or a news program.

10. My friend always keeps in touch by mail. ______________ I get a letter, I usually write back immediately.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conditional Exercise 2

Did you hear about that guy who won 180 million dollars in the lottery? If I (win) ________ that much money, I (quit)  ________  my job the next day. I (travel)  ________  around the world and (stay)  ________  in the most luxurious hotels. If I (want)  ________  anything, I (buy)  ________ it. If I (see)  ________  a beautiful Mercedes that I wanted, I (buy)  ________  it. If I wanted to stay in a beautiful hotel and the hotel (be)  ________ full, I (buy)  ________  the hotel and make them give me a room. I (can)  ________  do anything in the world if I had 180 million dollars … Oh, I am starting to sound a little materialistic… Well… I (do)  ________  good things with the money as well. If anybody (need)  ________  help, I (give)  ________  them some money to help them out. I (donate)  ________  money to charities. I (give)  ________  money to help support the arts. If I (win)  ________  that much money, I wouldn’t keep it all for myself. I (help)  ________  as many people as possible.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conditional Exercise 3

Michael: Sharon, I am having some problems at work, and I was wondering if you might be able to give me some advice.

Sharon: Sure, what’s the problem?

Michael: The computer sales business is more difficult than I thought. When customers (come)  ________   in to look at the new computer models, they often (ask)  ________   me which model they should buy. If they (ask)  ________   me to suggest a model, I (be)  ________   usually quite honest with them. Most computer users don’t need a very advanced computer; they just need a basic model which they can use for word-processing, bookkeeping and Internet access. If I am honest and I (recommend)  ________   one of the cheaper models, my boss (get)  ________   angry at me. He always says that a good salesperson can convince a customer to buy one of the more expensive advanced models. I don’t really feel comfortable doing that. What would you do in my situation? Isn’t it wrong to make them buy something which they don’t need?

Sharon: I think you should help your customers make an intelligent decision. If I (be)  ________   you, I (educate)  ________   the customers. I (teach)  ________   them how to make a good decision by themselves. I (make, not)  ________   the decision for them. When a customer (ask)  ________   a question, answer it honestly. You don’t need to lie to the customer, and you don’t need to make the decision for them.

Michael: When I (sell)  ________   an inexpensive computer to a customer, my boss (complain)  ________   that I am not trying hard enough. What would you tell him?

Sharon: If I (be)  ________   in your situation, I (tell)  ________   him that I wasn’t comfortable forcing customers to buy products which they don’t need. Tell him that you don’t want to lie to honest people, and that you want to provide them with good service. Remind him that when customers (get)  ________   good service, they (return)  ________   to a store and spend more money.

Michael: I think that’s a great idea. He (might)  ________   change his mind if I said that to him. Maybe he (realize)  ________   that good service is the most important thing to consumers. And, of course, I (feel)  ________   much more comfortable if I (be)  ________   able to be honest with the customers. Thanks for your advice.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conditional Exercise 4

After I graduated from university, I applied for a marketing position with a prominent bank with branches all over the world. I didn’t get the job because they wanted someone who spoke Spanish fluently. I (could, take)  ________    Spanish in high school, but I didn’t. I took an acting class instead. If I (take)  ________    Spanish, I (get)  ________    the job. Just imagine, if I had actually gotten the job, I (move)  ________    to Spain. My entire life (could, go)  ________    in a totally different direction. If I had accepted the job and moved to Spain, I (might, meet)  ________    a Spanish woman and (get)  ________    married. If that had actually happened, I probably (stay)  ________    in Spain. We (might, have)  ________    children. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the job and I didn’t go to Spain. I got a boring job and I live alone. If I had just taken Spanish, my life (be)  ________    much more interesting.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conditional Exercise 5

 

1. If I (have)  ________     enough money, I (backpack)  ________     around Europe. But, unfortunately, I am broke.

2. If I (have)  ________     enough money in my twenties, I (backpack)  ________     around Europe. But, unfortunately, I was broke.

3. She would have been here earlier if she (miss, not)  ________     the train.

4. Thank you for helping me study. If you hadn’t tutored me, I (fail)  ________     the test.

5. If I exercised more, I (be)  ________     much more fit and I (have, not)  ________     so many health problems.

6. It’s too bad Frank isn’t with us. If he (be)  ________     here, he (can, translate)  ________     the letter for us.

7. Stop asking me what Joe bought you for your birthday. Even if I (know)  ________     what he bought you, I (tell, not)  ________     you.

8. My business trip to California was only two days. If the trip (be)  ________     longer, I (visit)  ________     my friends in Los Angeles.

9. I’m sorry, I didn’t know you were allergic to chocolate. If I (know)  ________    , I (make)  ________     you a vanilla birthday cake.

10. Did you hear that Margaret won $2,000 in Las Vegas, and she used the money to buy a new washing machine and dryer? How boring! If I (win)  ________     that much money, I (go)  ________     to Tahiti for a couple of weeks.

11. Sally’s alarm didn’t go off, and she was almost late to the interview. If she (arrive)  ________     late, she (might, not, get)  ________     the job.

12. Jane is polite and well mannered. She (say, never)  ________     anything rude or insulting. That is just the kind of person she is.

13. Martha said that Paul called Nick a jerk at the party. I don’t believe that! Paul is polite and well mannered. He (say, never)  ________    anything rude or insulting like that.

14. Penny’s baby daughter almost drank some of the furniture polish which was sitting on the coffee table. If she (drink, actually)  ________     the polish, she (could, get)  ________     sick or even died.

15. If I (can, go)  ________     anywhere in the world, I (go)  ________     to Egypt to see the pyramids.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Conditional Exercise 6

Top of Form

I am not sure what I am going to do when I (graduate)   ________   , but I do know I want to travel. I am probably going to work at my father’s restaurant for a few months during the summer. When I (have)   ________    enough money, I (go)   ________    to Europe to visit some friends I met while studying.

I have always wanted to visit Europe. I especially want to visit Sweden. If I (get)   ________    to go to Sweden, I (stay)   ________    with my friend Gustav. His family has a house on an island in a lake near Stockholm. I am sure we (spend)   ________    a few days on the island if weather conditions (allow)   ________   .

I am not sure what other countries I will visit. If it (be)   ________    not too expensive, I (spend)   ________    a couple of days in Paris sightseeing. If I (go)   ________    to Paris, I (climb)   ________    the Eiffel Tower, (take)   ________    a boat tour of the Seine, and (photograph)   ________    daily life in the Latin Quarter.

Leave a Reply

Choose a category

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 338 other followers

